We are very happy to present to you the winners of the first European Podcast Award for 2008 / 2009, including videos and photos from the award ceremony.

From left to right our European Winners 2008 / 2009: Jose Antonio Gelado (Communicando Podcast), Annik Rubens (Schlaflos in München), Mark Pentleton (CoffeeBreak Spanish) and Diana O\'Carroll (The Naked Scientists)

From left to right our winners 2008 / 2009: Jose Antonio Gelado (Communicando Podcast), Annik Rubens (Schlaflos in München), Mark Pentleton (CoffeeBreak Spanish) and Diana O’Carroll (The Naked Scientists)

A short video from the ceremony (look further down for a longer one plus interviews)


Chosen from ten participating countries across Europe and over 750 nominations, the panel of judges awarded the first European Podcast Award to five winners from Germany, UK and Spain. The award seeks to promote audio podcasters across Europe and to encourage the continuation of first-rate achievements. All this has been made possible exclusively by Olympus Audio Systems.

Prices for the winners

The invitation to attend the ceremony in Hamburg was reason to celebrate for the award-winners. The award was topped off by an elegant glass trophy and the high-end LS-10 mobile audio recorder from Olympus.

David Prest, English member of the panel of judges, says: “The award does a much needed job all over Europe in recognizing excellence in podcasting. These podcasts are clever, creative, imaginative and extremely valuable programmes with high production values. Event organiser Michel Mertens from the German “Initiative European Podcast Award” continues: “Without the innovative support of Olympus across Europe this would not have been possible.”

Using online voting and with the help of a panel of judges, all the nominated podcasts were judged according to comprehensive assessment criteria. This marked out the national winners and then the European front-runners. The biggest surprise of all was the Spanish contingent, with the country ranking at number 3 after Germany and England due to its number of nominations.

The European Podcast Awards of the year 2008/2009 go to:

Special prize: European Podcast Excellence Award

Honored with a special “European Podcast Excellence Award” where living legends Wolfgang Rudolph and Wolfgang Back from the “ComputerClub 2″ / Germany.

Thumbs up and the “European Podcast Excellence Award”. Wolfgang Rudolph, Award-Speaker Nicole Simon and Wolfgang Back (left to right)

Videos and Interviews from the Award Ceremony in Hamburg


Diana O’Caroll, The Naked Scientists


Mark Pentleton, CoffeBreak Spanish


Annik Rubens, Schlaflos in München


Wolfgang Rudolph, ComputerClub 2


Nicole Simon, Speaker European Podcast Award


Dave Wallies, Manager Olympus Audio Systems Europe

What about next year?

Looking forward to the next edition of the EPA? So are we! After a short break we will start again in June with the EPA for 2009/2010, including some new features. Stay tuned for more information about this years edition and subscribe to the newsletter if you like to be one of the first to know about it:

In order to promote European podcasters we also have started a fresh Facebook page for the EPA (would love if you become a fan) plus a new mini forum where you can promote European podcasts you like.

Additional Links

5 Responses to “European Podcast Award 08/09 Winners announced”

  1. NormCast.de » European Podcast Award #1 Says:

    [...] Den ersten, offiziellen Blogeintrag vom EPA gibt’s auch schon, hier… [...]

  2. SCABR.COM » Blog Archive » European Podcasters-Winners Says:

    [...] via Link. [...]

  3. Phil Says:

    Congratulations to the European winners :-)
    I watched all the videos – great. I’m looking forward to the EPA 09/10 :)

    Best regards,

  4. PodTown » Blog » Pod-News für den 19.April 2009 Says:

    [...] Blogbeitrag im EPA-Blog [...]

  5. Comunicando 111 Entrevista Jerónimo Palacios : www.silviatormo.com Says:

    [...] European Podcast Awards :: Comunicando recibe el premio EPA cat. Personality [...]